Streaming Colloquia

ACOG is pleased to provide these critical keynote lectures and gala events streaming live and on demand after the live event.  These talks and events are provided to 2018 Annual Meeting attendees as a convenience and as a benefit to all ACOG members.

Talks and events will be available to replay after a short processing delay and remain available through the close of the meeting and beyond.

FRIDAY, APRIL 27

8:00 AM – 8:30 AM CT / 9:00 AM — 9:30 AM ET

Opening Ceremonies – PLN1 – Haywood L. Brown, MD

ACOG President Haywood L. Brown, MD, FACOG, presides over the opening of the 66th Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting on Saturday, April 27, 2018, in Austin, Texas and provides his recap of the year in practice.

8:30 AM – 10:00 AM CT / 9:30 AM — 11:00 AM ET

President’s Panel – The New Postpartum Visit: Beginning of Lifelong Health

  • The Hale Lecture – Wanda D. Barfield, MD
  • The Anna Marie D’Amico Lecture – Ambassador Nancy G. Brinker
  • The Jim and Midge Breeden Lecture – Minnow Walsh, MD

 ACOG President Haywood L. Brown, MD leads this panel of leading authorities on a discussion of women’s health issues pertinent to the current and future challenges in our field including the magnitude of chronic disease in reproductive age women and pregnancy.

See the Daily News article

10:25 AM – 11:15 AM CT/ 11:25 AM — 12:15 PM ET

The John and Marney Mathers Lecture: Genetic Screening for Everyone or Just a Selected Few (DEBATE)
Mary Norton, MD and Lee Shulman, MD

Drs. Norton and Shulman discuss the difference between expanded carrier screening and ethnicity based screening, the risks and benefits of expanded carrier screening, and adopting a standardized approach to genetic carrier screening in clinical practice.

See the Daily News article

Watch the interview

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM CT / 2:00 PM — 3:00 PM ET

March of Dimes Annual Lecture: Unlocking the Mysteries of Preterm Birth
Samuel Parry, MD

Dr. Parry discusses the role of abnormal cell metabolism and mitochondrial dysfunction in spontaneous preterm birth, the role of mitochondrial genetics in spontaneous preterm birth, and the role of host microbiota in spontaneous preterm birth.

See the Daily News article

2:10 PM – 3:00 PM CT / 3:10 PM — 4:00 PM ET

 The Donald F. Richardson Memorial Lecture:  Will Surgery Soon be Obsolete for Women with Uterine Fibroids? (DEBATE)
Elizabeth Stewart, MD and Erica Marsh, MD, MSCI 

Drs. Stewart and March will discuss data on effective medical and surgical alternatives to hysterectomy, delineate the risk factors for uterine sarcomas, and discuss long term side effects of hysterectomy both with and without oophorectomy.

See Daily News article

3:30 PM – 4:30 PM CT / 4:30 PM — 5:30 PM ET 

The Jenny and Keith White ‘Are You Smarter Than A Junior Fellow?’ Session
Cynthia Brincat, MD, Even Feinberg, MD, Larry Gilstrap, MD, Patrice Weiss, MD

 The fun Jenny and Keith White ‘Are You Smarter Than a Junior Fellow?’ session presents a team of Fellows and a team of Young Physicians to see who is smarter than a group of residents.

See the Daily News article

SATURDAY, APRIL 28

8:10 AM – 9:00 AM CT / 9:10 AM – 10:00 AM ET

The Morton and Diane Stenchever Lecture:  Nitrous Oxide in Labor: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly (DEBATE)
Laura Goetzl, MD and Mark Zakowski, MD 

Drs. Goetzl and Zakowski discuss identifying patients at high risk for complications from nitrous oxide, risks/informed consent of the metabolic/genetic consequences if nitrous oxide in the parturient and fetus, and the creation of policies and education of L&D staff about the potential effects of nitrous oxide exposure on staff.

See the Daily News article

9:10 AM – 10:00 AM CT / 10:10 AM – 11:00 ET

The Samuel A. Cosgrove Memorial Lecture:  Medication Superheroes Take on the Mighty IUD for Treatment of AUB (DEBATE)
Michael Thomas, MD and Kristen Matteson, MD, MPH

Drs. Thomas and Matteson discuss the treatment outcomes that are important to women suffering from the symptom of AUB, describe the relative risks and benefits of nonsurgical treatments for AUB, and develop strategies for choosing between treatments for AUB to optimize effectiveness and satisfaction with treatment for the individual patient.

See the Daily News article

1:10 PM – 2:00 PM CT / 2:10 PM – 3:00 PM ET

The Irvin M. Cushner Memorial Lecture–Cesarean Delivery Rate: Can It Be Safely Lowered? (DEBATE)
Neel Shah, MD, MPP and Baha Sibai, MD

Drs. Shah and Sibai discuss the benefits of planned cesarean delivery, the maternal risks of vaginal delivery, and the fetal and neonatal risks of vaginal delivery.

See the Daily News article

2:10 PM – 3:00 PM CT / 3:10 PM – 4:00 PM ET

The Edith Louise Potter Memorial Lecture–Delivering PPROM at 34 Weeks or Not: RDS or Sepsis (DEBATE)
George Saade, MD and Catherine Spong, MD

Drs. Saade and Spong discuss the evidence regarding timing of delivery for PPROM, the risks and benefits of delivery at 34 weeks versus expectant management, and develop plans for management.

See the Daily News article

3:40 PM – 4:30 PM CT / 4:40 PM – 5:30 PM ET

The Howard Taylor International Lecture:  An Obstetrician’s Education in Global Health: From the Front Lines
Lesley Regan, MD, DsC, FRCOG

See the Daily News article

SUNDAY, APRIL 29

8:10 AM – 9:00 AM CT / 9:10 AM – 10:00 AM ET

The John I. Brewer Memorial Lecture–Should Every Woman Have Access to a High-Volume Gynecologic Surgeon? (DEBATE)
Mark Lewis, DO, MS and Magdy Milad, MD, MS

Drs. Lewis and Milad will discuss the proportion of procedures performed in the US by low- and high-volume gynecologic surgeons, the literature addressing gynecologic surgical volume, the types of procedures performed for benign indications and the associated outcomes, and the implications for both patients and on the specialty if patients are preferentially referred to high volume surgeons.

See the Daily News article

Watch the interview

9:00 AM – 11:15 AM / 10:00 AM – 12:15 PM ET

 Inauguration and Convocation

 New ACOG Fellows will be inducted into the College and ACOG’s 69th president, Lisa M. Hollier, MD, MPH, will be welcome and inaugurated in this stirring ceremony.  Dr. Hollier will provide her inaugural speech.

See the Daily News article

Watch the interview with Lisa M. Hollier, MD

Watch the Convocation remarks by Lisa M. Hollier, MD

10:25 AM – 11:15 AM CT / 11:25 AM – 12:25 PM ET

The ABOG Educational Foundation Lectureship on Patient Safety and Quality Improvement:  Everyone Should VBAC! #NOTSOFAST (DEBATE)
Mark Landon, MD and James Palmer, MD

Drs. Landon and Palmer will discuss factors which have limited the frequency of VBAC in the U.S., best candidates for TOLAC in their practice, and the role of induction in women with prior cesarean delivery.

See the Daily News article

1:10 PM – 2:00 PM CT / 2:10 PM – 3:00 PM ET

The Benson and Pamela Harer Seminar on History:  History of Planned Parenthood
Cecile Richards, MD

See the Daily News article

Watch the interview

2:15 PM – 3:45 PM CT / 3:15 PM – 4:45 PM ET

Gerald and Barbara Holzman Stump the Professors (‘Presidents’)
Richard Hansell, MD; Katherine Chang, MD, MPH; Ilanna Dinesman, MD, MS; Thomas Gellhaus, MD; John Jennings, MD; James Martin, MD; Kenneth Noller, MD, MS; Jeanne Conry, MD, PhD; Mark DeFrancesco, MD, MBA; Alyssa Herrman, MD; Allison Pihelgas, MD 

In this fun and lively session, Junior Fellows will present four common cases within everyday practice and scope of obstetrics and gynecology. This year, a panel of ACOG Past Presidents will be put on the spot and asked to make the correct diagnosis from a real case from a Junior Fellow.

See the Daily News article

© 2018 American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. All Rights Reserved. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use.